German in the Afternoon

Speaking German with my little boys – bilinguialism one afternoon at a time

Adventskalender December 1, 2010

Filed under: Christmas,Craft — Kate R @ 10:11 pm
Tags: ,

I just love the holiday season! Our stockings are hanging from the mantle, and my cherished German decorations are out – a Raucher (smoker), Nussknacker (nutcracker), and Pyramid. And of course today – December 1st – I put out my precious advent calendar. My mother made it out of felt when I was just a little girl. In fact, I can’t remember a Christmas when it wasn’t hanging on the wall.

Aleksander is still much too young to appreciate all of these special decorations. And I can’t believe it, but I’m not even sure if we’ll put up a Christmas tree this year! I just don’t think Aleksander could resist the temptation of it! I’m thinking of putting out a little tree on a table instead and maybe hanging some boughs between the posts that separate our living and dining rooms. Then at least I can also hang some of my favorite ornaments.

I also just finished creating an advent calendar craft project. No, it isn’t for Aleksander, of course! It’s for my school students. But I thought I’d share it here.

The kids make a chain with strips of paper (6″ x 1.25″) and tear off one paper link each day. The chain hangs from the main page (cut along the dotted lines at the bottom to attach the first link). I set it up so that there are vocab words on the back of each link, and kids fill in the word that goes with the picture on the main page. To print the words, use 12×12 scrapbooking paper cut in half (to make it 6×12), then cut into 1.25″ strips. I’ve attached both documents you’ll need below. You can also just use colored paper without any words. I hope that all makes sense! Let me know if you have any questions!

Adventskalender

Chain vocabulary

(I just found a mistake in the chain vocab. It’s been corrected and updated as of 12/4. But if you printed before, note the article for Zuckerstange is “die”. Entschuldigung!)


 

Hang up the calendar!

 

8 Responses to “Adventskalender”

  1. Patsie Says:

    This is so clever!
    I am going to try it – maybe I can learn some og the German Christmas words and try them out on Aleksander!
    Patsie

  2. [...] are Kate’s main instructions but I highly recommend that you go to Kate’s blog, German in the Afternoon, to see photos of the Adventskalender as well as other details (and check out the rest of her blog [...]

  3. Adela Says:

    Sounds like a great Christmas project! You need to post pictures of your decorated apartment, it’s going to look great I’m sure :-)

  4. Tyeisha Says:

    This is a very creative activity. I will try to do this activity in my home, but with Spanish. And, I will be sure to come by your blog often to see what other activities you have thought of.

    • KateR Says:

      Thanks! I’m glad you like the activity. And it’s great that you’ll be trying it in another language. I just checked out – and subscribed to – your blog. It sounds like we have a lot in common. Two non-native speakers of a foreign language trying to pave the way for our kids to become bilingual (only my little guy is a bit younger than your two!). Good luck with your journey! I look forward to reading about it….

  5. [...] try it out for yourselves, you can click over to my other blog for full instructions and pictures: Adventskalender. Wortschatz Adventskalender Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like [...]

  6. What a cute idea! I’m going to try it out with my two boys. We’re trying to teach them Turkish (Dad’s Turkish and I was born in the U.S.)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers